Test cookies

We have a cake arrangement at school. Every Thursday, the class is gathered in a small room where we talk and eat cakes. The baking is organized with a small online list so everyone can see when it is their turn. I had the opportunity to impress last Thursday. Despite the fact that I love baking, I wasn’t too eager to have this responsibility and could feel the pressure to perform well (especially as some classmates are eager blog readers – hi everyone!).

There was also another challenge: in my class, there are at least three persons who are milk (lactose and casein) and gluten intolerant, two allergic to eggs, and one who is allergic to nuts. I wanted to make something everyone could enjoy.

In the previous weeks, I have tried to develop my cookie recipe. The original is both egg- and dairy-free, but I wanted to take it one step further and make it gluten-free as well. I read somewhere that it was possible to replace “ordinary” flour with gluten-free flour in most cookies, but that only 80% of the original amount was sufficient. I tested it. I bought 1 kg Schär pastry flour, and made three cookies with slightly different flour content. One with 80% of the original amount, one with 90% and one with 100% (same amount as in the original cookies).

More test cookies

100%, 90% and 80% of original flour content.

The result is – well, obvious. The more flour, the better. Less flour = more florentine-like cookies. I decided to stick with the same amount of gluten-free flour as in the original recipe. Thus, this is the changed recipe for totally egg, gluten and milk free cookies:

For approximately 10 cookies (depending on size):

50 g milk-free chocolate or cranberries

zest of 1/2 orange or lemon

50 g soy oil

75 g sugar (white or brown)

75 g orange jam (clump-free)

150 g gluten-free flour (I used Schär‘s Mix C: Mix Pâtisserie)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

Heat oven to 180℃. Chop the chocolate or cranberries and set aside. In a large bowl, stir oil, sugar and jam well. Add the dry ingredients to the mixture, and mix thoroughly until the dough is solid and free of cracks. Lastly, add the chocolate or cranberries.

Divide the dough into 10 pieces (more or less, depending how small/large you want the cookies). Roll the pieces to round balls and gently press each ball flat together using your palms. (The cookies don’t expand much in the oven.) Let bake for approximately 20 minutes or until the cookies look golden. Let cool before eating.

Note: It’s difficult to tell when the cookies are finished as they don’t gild. I decided to take them out after 20 minutes. If you bake the cookies on hot air, they become crisp but a bit fragile.

